Las Vegas Series: Highlights

Although the whole trip was a highlight for me, there were certain places and things that we did that stood out more than others.

I went to my first Cirque du Soleil show at the Bellagio called “O.” It was a water show (hence “eau” = “O”) and it was absolutely astounding. I was awed by the performance – there were amazingly talented performers, as well as a hilariously funny duo. There was so much going on that it was hard for me to focus on each thing, but I think that’s what made the show so intriguing.

img_8851
This was taken before the show started as no photography was allowed during the show (nor did I want divide my attention between the expensive show and taking pictures on my phone).

We went on a boat ride at The Venetian. Although it’s not the “real” thing, I was still fascinated. We bought tickets that said “shared,” meaning we were fine with sharing the boat with another couple, but because it was still early, there weren’t that many people so we got our own boat. There was also singing involved (or a better term would be serenading), which I enjoyed.

img_8852

img_8853

I think you haven’t visited Las Vegas until you go to a wax museum, specifically Madame Tussauds. I had a lot of fun taking pictures next to all the celebrities that I know I’ll never meet in real life.

img_8856

There was a period in my life when I was an avid watcher of Carlo’s Bakery on television, so I was very excited when I found out that I could get the real thing from Las Vegas.

img_8857

At the Linq, we went on the High Roller, which was an observation wheel ride that gave riders a 360 degree view of the surroundings. It boasts as the world’s tallest and measures 520 feet in diameter. It was really cool because despite the abundant amount of space that one cabin had, there were only two couples in ours (the website says that each cabin can fit up to 40 people). So we were very comfortable during that thirty minute ride.

img_8859

We also went on the Big Apple Coaster at the New York hotel, which was really fun. It’s cool how they have a roller coaster right in the city – very convenient. Now they just need to add a whole DisneyWorld there as the cherry on top.

On our last night in Las Vegas, we dined at Gordon Ramsay Steak at the Paris Las Vegas hotel (which was amazing), then walked around exploring the hotel before heading up to the Eiffel Tower to check out the night views. Although the wait was long because of the long line up, it was worth it because we were able to see this beautiful night view from 46 stories up, giving us a different 360 degree perspective of Las Vegas at night.

img_8861

img_8864

Needless to say, although we were there for a short time, we spent it very well. I can’t wait to go back and relax in the hot weather again.

Leave a Reply

