Persuasion by Jane Austen

I thought that since today is Valentine’s Day, it is only fitting to have a Jane Austen book review. I recently (read: today) finally finished reading Persuasion. It took a while because I have been very busy with school and practicum things, but finishing the book made me realize just how much I missed reading. Now, all my energy goes towards sleeping, thinking, and reflecting about unit and lesson plans on my commute instead of dedicating that time to reading.

Eight years ago Anne Elliot bowed to pressure from her family and made the decision not to marry the man she loved, Captain Wentworth. Now circumstances have conspired to bring him back into her social circle and Anne finds her old feelings for him reignited. However, when they meet again, Wentworth behaves as if they are strangers and seems more interested in her friend Louisa.

In this, her final novel, Jane Austen tells the story of a love that endures the tests of time and society with humour, insight and tenderness.

There is just something about the classics that makes you want to read more of it. The same goes this time around for another one of Jane Austen’s romantic works. Although the language can be hard to soak in, once you do get a grasp of it, you can get really pulled in to the story. If you enjoy classics and romance, then this would be a nice book to pick up!

This book is part of the Vintage Classics, and I just love the book cover with its simple design. On the back of the book, it features a beautiful quote, which I think can be very relevant to today’s date.

You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope… I have loved none but you.

Although it is no longer 2016, hence no more Reading Challenge, I would still like to keep up with my reading as there are so many unread books on my bookshelf – plus so many more books that I still have not purchased and would like to read!

Leave a Reply

