Review Session | April 2017

I can’t believe I didn’t post anything for the month of March. I have been so busy and tired out and stressed and anxious and occupied that blogging was the last thing on my mind. Or rather, it was the last thing on my list of to-do.

Since I don’t want to forget what I did in March, I’ll do a quick snapshot of what happened. It’s unfortunately that I didn’t take as many pictures as I would have liked for March to remember the month by.

Week 1:

  • Volunteered for an amazing event called Serendipity and met three great authors and authorstrators (you can read more about that here)
  • Went to orientation session for spring break camps

Week 2:

  • Completed (and passed!) my Triple Jump for my cohort program
  • Started working for spring break camps
  • Got really sick and took days off work

Week 3:

  • Got better so I went back to work
  • Learned (and re-learned) many things while at work – and just in time for the final practicum!

Week 4:

  • Final practicum started

And that last line explains where and why I’ve been MIA for the past two months. April has been more or less of learning, teaching, reflecting, prepping, planning, creating, evaluating, and re-learning for my long practicum. However, I did take a nice break during the long weekend to bus down to Seattle to spend some quality time together with B.

We went to the Museum of Flight where there were tons of planes on display. It was sim-plane-y amazing.

IMG_1828

We also went to Santouka Ramen for brunch, then went to view the cherry blossoms at the University of Washington. After, we went to Bellevue to do some shopping, only to discover that they’re closed on Easter Sunday. That’s okay, I will make it rain with my limited cloud wallet next time. But, because of this, we discovered that there was a nearby H-Mart and Staples! It was like a fortune in disguise.

IMG_0070

IMG_0073

IMG_0082

The best part for me was when we just chilled at home; We cooked together and caught up with our TV series together. It was really nice. We were… creative (?) and definitely adaptive for our new menu item: kimchi jiggae.

We didn’t have the base ingredients for the stock, so we just used water instead. After cooking it for a while, we tasted the soup and it was still missing something, so we added in the secret powder (aka. MSG from ramyun). We had it with some Arizona iced tea as our choice of beverage for the night. It was great – I loved it.

IMG_0098

As for the monthly review, I mainly focused on numbers 4 and 5:

4. Create a fun and safer learning environment for my practicum class. Although this can always be improved upon, the fun part of this goal was met for this month as I always try to make each and every one of my lessons fun and engaging. It’s the latter part that focuses on safer that I believe I still need to work on, especially when doing behaviour and classroom management. However, I am taking things one step at a time by going through the process of learning, acting, reflecting, evaluating, and re-learning each time.

5. Create work that I am proud of. I am definitely researching and looking for resources to help me when planning out my lessons, while at the same time, trying to add my own spin to it instead of directly copying someone else’s idea. This has proven to be successful as I can see the immediate results with my students when they enjoy a lesson and really took something away from it.

In May, I will likely be even busier as this is where the bulk of our teaching for practicum occurs. We are going into our 80-100% of teaching everyday, so I will most likely not be blogging for the month of May until my practicum is over in early June.

Leave a Reply

