Review Session | May 2017

I successfully completed my 10-week practicum! It was an amazing experience and I know that I’ll be having some withdrawal symptoms come Monday. I had such a great time learning and teaching at the school with all the wonderful students and staff that it is bittersweet to know that I finished my ten weeks. Nevertheless, I hope to return one day as a full fledged teacher at the school!

IMG_1460

The kids put this book together for me when I was away for the TOC Day. My students are the best.

Other than my practicum, I’ve also been able to make a trip out to Seattle and hang out with some friends during the weekends this month.

In Seattle, B and I went to several places: Chihuly Garden and Glass, The Seattle Great Wheel at Pier 57, Kizuki Ramen & Izakaya, and my all-time favourite, Veggie Grill.

IMG_1330

10/10 would recommend everyone to go visit Chihuly Garden and Glass at least once.

IMG_0150

IMG_1340

These were some pretty yummy wings.

IMG_1341

I had Miso Ramen with a “hard” boiled egg that wasn’t hard boiled at all.

IMG_1343

I can’t remember what B had… this is what happens when you blog too late (oops).

We also tried our hand at cooking / making some new dishes, which some turned out well and others… well, not so much.

IMG_0200

The Korean tofu pouches that turned out pretty well.

IMG_0203

These innovative “ricewiches” with spam in between that had too much rice.

IMG_0204

And of course, can’t forget about the kimchi jiggae with a few twists.

We also tried to make some wings from a recipe we found online. Worst. Recipe. Ever. The wings did not turn out well to say the least. The pictures looked nice, but you know what they say – it’s the inside that counts.

Moving on to my monthly goals…

Again, I could only focus on numbers 4 and 5 since I was in my 80 – 100% of teaching at my practicum school.

4. Create a fun and safer learning environment for my practicum class. I know that I was able to create a fun learning environment for my class because I received very positive feedback from my School Advisor, Faculty Advisor, and my most important clients – the students. Kids are very innocent and can be brutally honest, so if they tell you that your math class is the “best math class ever,” then it’s most likely true (or at least I’ll like to think so). As for the safer learning environment, I think I still need to work on this. Even though the students feel comfortable and safe enough around me to tell me what happened during conflicts, I need to work on being able to read them better. For example, being able to read their body language, face, and emotions to determine the best course of action. I think this will come with time and lots of experience, so I am not too worried about it, but I do need to continue to make a conscious effort to look for ways to improve this useful skill.

5. Create work that I am proud of. Although I did teach some lessons that had a good output of projects, I feel that I didn’t get to try everything I wanted. But, that’s alright because I’ve got a long teaching career ahead of me so I can always pull an idea out from my hat and try it out.

Next up for the month of June, I will be doing my Community Field Experience at a different location. I will be experiencing something completely different from the classroom setting, and I look forward to it! Then, at the end of June, I will be heading to Japan with B, which I am super excited about! I have also set a new goal for myself for June, which is to work out at least three times a week. I have not been exercising or watching what I eat at all and my body is feeling the repercussions of it, and I really want to be in good shape for when we go to Japan so I won’t miss out on anything and have a good time!

Leave a Reply

