Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I had seen this book displayed and on the shelves at Indigo / Chapters many times in passing, as well as in some online reviews, but didn’t really think about reading it. Sure, I was intrigued, but not enough to buy it. However, I came across it during my first Scholastic book sale for teachers and thought to myself that I’ll give it a try – and I am so glad I did.

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

(Source from Goodreads)

This is the first book in the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard and it is categorized as a fantasy book. If I had to choose between fantasy or science fiction, I would choose to read fantasy. It is similar to The Hunger Games (at least based on that one movie I watched) because of its live or die world. At first, I didn’t think that I would be so sucked into this fantasy world, but I managed to read one book after the other very quickly. Needless to say, I was hooked into the plot and characters, and I couldn’t wait to find out what happened. Each book was equally – if not more so – than the last one, and the story really pulls you in to the different worlds that reside in this series.

The Red Queen series consists of:

  • Book #1: Red Queen
  • Book #0.1: Queen Song
  • Book #0.2: Steel Scars
  • Book #2: Glass Sword
  • Book #3: King’s Cage

There is another book in the series, but it is still being written. Based on the release timeline of the other books, the next one in the series should be released sometime in February next year.

Leave a Reply

